Skip to content

Good and Bad

June 18, 2011

It’s probably not a good idea for me to be labeling my eating as “good” and “bad”, that seems to be a behavior associated with eating disorders. Though as I try to pay attention to what I eat and how it makes me feel, it’s hard not to use those adjectives. When I eat according to my hunger, make smart decisions, and don’t feel deprived,  I can’t help but remind myself that this is the “good” behavior I am striving for. That doesn’t necessarily mean eating nothing but veggies and depriving myself of dessert, but it does mean eating when I’m hungry and stopping when I’m full.  And that is exactly what I did today.

I went out to lunch with my coworkers (a rare treat – I usually pack my lunch) and ending up ordering what I wanted, eating as much as I wanted (and no more), taking the rest home in a box. Later that afternoon, I partook in a decadent piece of cake my manager brought in – no regrets. I had exactly what I was craving for dinner (a massive salad, with peaches, onions, peppers, mushrooms, and mozzarella atop a bed of lettuce drizzled with BBQ sauce and balsamic vinegar. It was awesome). No desperate searches for food, only calm and rational choice that made me feel good. If only every day were this easy. 🙂 I’m sure most of this was because I was happily socializing with my coworkers and not feeling awkward or worried about work. My mental state has a huge impact on my ability to make rational food choices.

On the exercise front, I did two unassisted pull-ups. I actually meant to try a few chin ups (which are easier for me) but once I had my hands on the bar I just went for it. The rest of my strength training was uninspired and short. Fridays are typically the only day I strength train and run. Today’s run was AMAZING. I did 5 miles at an 8:36 min/mi pace. That’s over 10 seconds faster than my most recent 10k pace (though on a much flatter course)! My running buddy definitely pushed me to get those results. While my husband talked with some of our running group I did another 2.3 miles to kill time. They were somewhat slower and my hip started to become tight. Of course that means extra stretching for me! The excessive amount of exercise meant I had extra hunger and I was happy to oblige it by eating. 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

