Skip to content

#Fail

July 12, 2011

All right, so I was supposed to start “no added sugar” last Saturday. And I did well with that (even giving up white chocolate raspberry chunk ice cream)…until Sunday. My in-laws were in town, which meant eating out lunch on Sunday. I ordered a massive cobb salad with a dressing I’m sure had some added sugar. Fail #1. Then we attended a BBQ at a friend’s house…and it occurred to me that the potato salad I was chowing down on had dressing that probably had some sugar in the Miracle Whip. Fail #2. So I threw in the towel and decided to start after my in-laws left so I would have control over what I put in my mouth. And then pigged out on some s’mores. They were tasty. 🙂

Fending off the cravings at work has been comparatively easy. I’ve (mentally) removed hot chocolate as an option in the afternoon and been careful to pack hearty, filling, no-sugar added lunches. I do feel myself craving sugar at times, such as when my hubby needs dessert. Honestly, the cravings aren’t that bad so far (emphasis on so far) and I think if I push through the next few days I’ll be come accustomed to this way of eating. I have a feeling that the Paleo style of eating won’t be so easy…

I have been struggling with defining the rules of this “no sugar added” challenges, so here are my rules:

  • Sugary desserts and sweets are off-limits.
  • No foods that have added sugars in the ingredients (BBQ sauce, salad dressings, tomato sauce, etc.) with the exception of breads which require sugar as an ingredient. I’m not giving up my bread.
  • I would like to completely do away with artificial sugars, but this will realistically take some time. So I’ll be reducing my intake until I can do away with them completely.
  • I’m counting honey as an added sugar.
  • Fruits are allowed (and in fact encouraged) in any quantity I see fit.

This results in a significant overall reduction in the amount of sugar I consume, but not necessarily the number of calories. It’s a good stepping stone to full-out Paleo. Which is starting to scare the crap out of me.

*I reserve the right to adjust these rules as I see fit.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

