Skip to content

Paleo Defined

August 5, 2011

I spent a good portion of this past week reading The Paleo Diet for Athletes, planning meals, eating grains and dairy, and generally obsessing over how I would complete four weeks of Paleo. I eventually came to the conclusion that I just need to take it one day at a time (heck, even one day at a time!) and there was no need to continue if I couldn’t take it any longer. I fear an epic end to this experiment a la Charlotte, but I just keep telling myself that I can stop any time (that’s what they all say!) and that I surprised myself by being able to complete the past month without added sugars, so this might not be as hard as I think it will be. Speaking of Charlotte, she linked to this study which had some pretty discouraging things to say about Paleo, all of which I’m sure are true. Which is why I am only following this for 4 weeks, I’m already tired of all the planning and sacrifice this takes. 🙂 Also, if I fail miserably, at least I know I’m in good company.

When I say I’m following a “Paleo” eating plan, what exactly do I mean? Based on my extensive Internet research, I can only eat pretty much these foods: http://altmed.creighton.edu/paleodiet/Foodlist.html There’s some debate over (full-fat, unprocessed) dairy and starchy tubers in Paleo circles, so I’m erring on the side of cation (and the side of the The Paleo Diet for Athletes) and avoiding them. However, according to the The Paleo Diet for Athletes I should be eating foods with a high glycemic load just before, during, and just after intense exercise. They specifically recommend gus and gels. This feels like a hack, but it’s what’s recommended…and I honestly think I might be hurting myself a lot more by not following these guidelines. So after any intense workouts (hard intensity for over an hour), I’m allowing myself oatmeal. My standard, go-to breakfast. Other than that, I’m sticking to meats, nuts, fish, veggies, eggs, and fruit. No grains for me! So far, this has left me pretty hungry. Really hungry. I’m pretty satisfied after meals, but approaching dinner I’m ravenous (though that could be that the gap between lunch and dinner the past two days has been about 8 hours…). Clearly I need to figure out a better snacking strategy.:) I’m sure that I’ll figure something out, it’s only been two days after all!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

